The Ignyte Awards began in 2020 alongside the inaugural FIYAHCON, a virtual convention centering the contributions and experiences of BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color) in Speculative Fiction. Founded by L. D. Lewis and Suzan Palumbo, the awards were an attempt to correct representative gaps in traditional spec lit awards and have grown into a coveted and cherished addition to the awards landscape. The Ignytes seek to celebrate the vibrancy and diversity of the current and future landscapes of science fiction, fantasy, and horror by recognizing incredible feats in storytelling and outstanding efforts toward inclusivity of the genre.

Awards are given annually in the following categories:

Best Novel – Adult
Best Novel – YA
Best in Middle Grade
Best Novella
Best Novelette
Best Short Story
Speculative Poetry
Critics Award
Best Fiction Podcast
Best Artist
Best Comics Team
Best Anthology/Collected Works
Best in Creative Nonfiction

The Ember Award for Unsung Contributions to Genre

Community Award for Outstanding Efforts in Service of Inclusion and Equitable Practice in Genre