Best Novel – Adult

for novel-length (40k+ words) works intended for the adult audience

WINNER Black Sun – Rebecca Roanhorse (Gallery Books/Saga Press)

The City We Became – N. K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Midnight Bargain – C. L. Polk (Erewhon Books)

The Only Good Indians – Stephen Graham Jones (Gallery Books/Saga Press)

Vagabonds – Hao Jingfang, translated by Ken Liu (Gallery Books/Saga Press)

Best Novel – YA

for novel-length (40k+ words) works intended for the young adult audience

Elatsoe – Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)

WINNER Legendborn – Tracy Deonn (Margaret K. McElderry Books)

Raybearer – Jordan Ifueko (Amulet Books)

A Song Below Water – Bethany Morrow (Tor Teen)

A Sky Beyond the Storm – Sabaa Tahir (Razorbill)

Best in MG

for works intended for the middle grade audience

Frightville: Curse of the Wish Eater – Mike Ford (Scholastic Paperbacks)

WINNER Ghost Squad – Claribel A. Ortega (Scholastic)

Maya and the Rising Dark – Rena Barron (HMH Books for Young Readers)

Race to the Sun – Rebecca Roanhorse (Read Riordan/Disney Publishing Worldwide)

A Wish in the Dark – Christina Soontornvat (Candlewick Press)

Best Novella

for speculative works ranging from 17,500-39,999 words

Empress of Salt and Fortune – Nghi Vo (Tordotcom)

The Four Profound Weaves – R. B. Lemberg (Tachyon Publications)

Ring Shout – P. Djèli Clark (Tordotcom)

WINNER Riot Baby – Tochi Onyebuchi (Tordotcom)

Stone & Steel – Eboni J. Dunbar (Neon Hemlock)

Best Novelette

for speculative works ranging from 7,500-17,499 words

WINNER The Inaccessibility of Heaven – Aliette de Bodard (Uncanny Magazine)

Love Hangover – Sheree Renée Thomas (Mocha Memoirs Press)

The Night Sun – Zin E. Rocklyn (Tordotcom)

One Hand in the Coffin – Justin C. Key (Strange Horizons)

The Transition of Osoosi – Ozzie M. Gartrell (FIYAH)

Best Short Story

for speculative works ranging from 2,000-7,499 words

Body, Remember – Nicasio Andres Reed (Fireside Magazine)

EXPRESS TO BEIJING WEST RAILWAY STATION | 开往西站的特别列车 – Congyun ‘Mu Ming’ Gu, translated by Kiera Johnson (Samovar)

My Country is a Ghost – Eugenia Triantafyllou (Uncanny Magazine)

Rat and Finch are Friends – Innocent Chizaram Ilo (Strange Horizons)

WINNER You Perfect, Broken Thing – C. L. Clark (Uncanny Magazine)

Best in Speculative Poetry

The Alt-History of King Kong – Renoir Gaither (Speculative City)

Fin – Terese Mason Pierre (Uncanny Magazine)

WINNER The Harrowing Desgarrador – Gabriel Ascencio Morales (Strange Horizons)

Hungry Ghost – Millie Ho (Uncanny Magazine)

Tequila Mockingbird | Matar un Ruiseñor – Raúl Gallardo Flores, translated by Juan Martinez (Strange Horizons)

Critics Award

for reviews and analysis of the field of speculative literature

Jesse @ Bowties & Books

Charles Payseur @ Quick Sip Reviews

Maria Haskins

A. C. Wise

WINNER Stitch @ Stitch’s Media Mix

Best Fiction Podcast

for excellence in audio performance and production for speculative fiction

Beneath Ceaseless Skies – Editor Scott H. Andrews

Escape Pod – Editors Mur Lafferty and S.B. Divya; Assistant Editor Benjamin C. Kinney; Hosts Tina Connolly and Alasdair Stuart, Audio Producers Summer Brooks and Adam Pracht, and the entire Escape Pod team

WINNER Nightlight Podcast – Tonia Ransom

PodCastle – Editors Jen R. Albert, Cherae Clark, Khaalidah Muhammad-Ali, Host + Assistant Editor Setsu Uzume, & Audio Producer Peter Adrian Behravesh

The Magnus Archives – Written and performed by Jonathan Sims, Directed by Alexander J Newall, Produced by Lowri Ann Davies. Distributed by Rusty Quill

Best Artist

for contributions in visual speculative storytelling

John Picacio

Nilah Magruder

WINNER Odera Igbokwe

Paul Lewin

Rovina Cai

Best Comics Team

for comics, graphic novels, and sequential storytelling

Cuisine Chinoise: Five Tales of Food and Life – Zao Dao, with Diana Schutz & Brandon Kandor (Dark Horse Comics)

Far Sector – N. K. Jemisin & Jamal Campbell (DC Comics)

Giga – Alex Paknadel & John Lê (Vault Comics)

WINNER Parable of the Sower – Written by Octavia Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy, illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)

You Brought Me the Ocean – Alex Sanchez & Jul Maroh (DC Comics)

Best Anthology/Collected Works

WINNER A Phoenix First Must Burn – ed. Patrice Caldwell (Viking Books for Young Readers)

Glitter + Ashes: Queer Tales of a World that Wouldn’t Die – editor, publisher dave ring (Neon Hemlock)

Love After the End: An Anthology of Two-Spirit and Indigiqueer Speculative Fiction – ed. Joshua Whitehead (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Nine Bar Blues – Sheree Renée Thomas (Third Man Books)

Vampires Never Get Old: Tales with a Fresh Bite – ed. Zoraida Cordova & Natalie C. Parker (Imprint)

Best in Creative Nonfiction

for works related to the field of speculative fiction

“The African Superhero and the Legacy of Captain Africa” – Suyi Davies Okungbowa (

“Fine Weather, Isn’t It?” – Tochi Onyebuchi (SFWA Bulletin #215)

“How to Make a Family: Queer Blood Bonds in Black Feminist Vampire Novels” – Tamara Jerée (Strange Horizons)

WINNER “I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream: The Duty of the Black Writer During Times of American Unrest” – Tochi Onyebuchi (

“Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Excellence” – Nibedita Sen (Uncanny Magazine)

The Ember Award

for unsung contributions to genre

Clarion West

WINNER Dhonielle Clayton

K. Tempest Bradford

Michi Trota

Tananarive Due

The Community Award

for Outstanding Efforts in Service of Inclusion and Equitable Practice in Genre

Anathema Magazine: Spec from the Margins – Michael Matheson, Andrew Wilmot, Chinelo Onwualu

Beth Phelan

Diana M. Pho

WINNER #PublishingPaidMe – L.L. McKinney & Tochi Onyebuchi

Writing The Other: Online Classes and Workshops – Nisi Shawl + K Tempest Bradford